daniel powter wrote a song about this

Everybody has rough weeks.  In my experience, most of my friends seem to have bad weeks during the same weeks as my other friends who are having bad weeks.  And occasionally, I’m having bad weeks as well.  It’s kind of like how women who live together get on the same menstruation schedule, only somehow much worse.

This has been one of those weeks.

In an attempt to keep my head above water, I’ve spent almost all of my free time making hats while watching serial killer shows or re-reading The Hunger Games.  No, this really should not be at all relaxing, but the system works so I’m not questioning it.

In unrelated news, I have had some really screwed-up dreams as of late.  No idea what that’s about.

So the hats in my apartment are multiplying faster than Tribbles and Shemar Moore continues to be a stone-cold fox.  And even though it’s been a rough week, I’m optimistic that next week will be better.  And if next week isn’t better, there’s a week after that to look forward to instead.  And one of these days, things will be brighter again.  I know they will be.  That’s just how it works.

And just in case you need something today to make your life a little brighter (or at least pleasantly ridiculous), here’s a stupid poem I wrote a couple years ago about Bill Murray.  I am proud to say it is one of the only things I’ve had published.  I hope that if you’re having a bad week or helping someone else through their bad week, you can take a moment in the conversation to say, ‘You know, I met this weirdo once who managed to get a bunch of haikus about Bill Murray published.’  And if that non sequitur doesn’t put a new spin on the conversation, I am out of ideas for how to help you.

Central Illinois
Is what we both call our home.
Glad it’s not just me.

So sad when you died
Onscreen in Zombieland. I
Wanted to boycott.

Take me under seas;
Let’s stop the jaguar shark
For poor Esteban!

Battle ghosts and sprites.
Save the girl from possession.
Then get sandwiches.

Perfect Saturdays
Spent watching, absorbing it.
Your face on the screen.

Take care of yourselves out there, friends.

Share Your Opinion

